Car Dealer Doc Fee by State 2022 (Updated)

December 6, 2021

The price of a car is never what it seems. There’s the selling price, the fees, the add-ons, and taxes. When it’s all said and done you end up with you “out the door” price, and one of the line items you’ll see on your purchase agreement is a “doc fee”. Car dealer doc fees show up on EVERY car deal, and on this page we’ve aggregated all the car dealer doc fees by state for 2022.

Some states (like California and New York) cap the dealer doc fee. Others (we’re looking at you Florida) don’t. On this page you’ll see the average doc fee that you should expect a dealership to charge you if you are buying a car from their state. If a dealer is charging more, you should try to negotiate the price down.

Car Dealer Doc Fee by State 2022

We’ve also included the average title and registration fee you should expect to pay in each state.

StateAverage Doc FeeTitle FeeRegistration FeeMore Info
AK$200$18$100http://law.alaska.gov/department/civil/consumer/vehicles.html#fees
AL$485$18$23https://revenue.alabama.gov/motor-vehicle/license-plate-and-registration-information/
AR$110$10$25https://www.dfa.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/motorVehicleOffice/schedule_fee1.pdf
AZ$410$4$10https://azdot.gov/sites/default/files/2019/08/AZ-registration-fees.pdf
CA$85$18$70https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/vehicle-registration/registration-fees/vehicle-registration-fee-calculator/
CO$490$7$300https://arapahoegov.com/1569/Vehicle-Registration-Fee-Estimate
CT$415$25$80https://portal.ct.gov/DMV/Fees/Fees/Fees-for-Registration#passcl
DC$300$26$115https://dmv.dc.gov/node/155452
DE$292$10$40https://www.dmv.de.gov/Common/DMVFees/index.shtml
FL$995$77$248https://www.flhsmv.gov/fees/
GA$545$18$20https://dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles/motor-vehicle-titles-and-registration/motor-vehicles-fees-fines-and-penalties
HI$250$0$115https://www.hawaiicounty.gov/departments/finance/vehicle-registration-licensing/motor-vehicles-fee-information
IA$135$258$500https://www.iowataxandtags.org/vehicle-registration/registration-fees-by-vehicle-type/
ID$265$14$65
IL$303$150$151https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/vehicles/basicfees.html
IN$150$15$36https://www.in.gov/bmv/files/Fee_Chart.pdf
KS$399$10$43https://kansastreasurers.org/index.php/motor-vehicle/titling-fees-refunds/
KY$450$92$21
LA$200$69$50https://dpsweb.dps.louisiana.gov/OMV_Welcome.nsf/c12363415339e36e8625724700043adc/5306532dd9e7ab5d862575f4006d97e0?OpenDocument
MA$396$75$50https://www.mass.gov/files/2017-07/Schedule%20of%20Fees_9.pdf
MD$500$100$135https://mva.maryland.gov/Pages/fees.aspx
ME$499$33$35https://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/registration/regfees.html
MI$230$15$100https://dsvsesvc.sos.state.mi.us/TAP/_/#1
MN$75$8$6https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Pages/license-plate-fees.aspx
MO$500$9$39https://dor.mo.gov/motorv/fees.php#regisfees
MS$425$8$14https://www.dor.ms.gov/Pages/MotorVehicle-FAQs.aspx#402
MT$299$122$217https://dojmt.gov/driving/vehicle-title-and-registration/
NC$599$52$36https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/title-registration/vehicle/Pages/fees.aspx
ND$299$5$150https://apps.nd.gov/dot/mv/mvrenewal/feeCalc.htm
NE$299$10$24https://dmv.nebraska.gov/dvr/reg/registration-fees-and-taxes
NH$372$25$43https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/title/purchase-sell.htm#:~:text=A%20%2425.00%20title%20fee%20will,VIN%20verification%20may%20be%20required.&text=When%20a%20New%20Hampshire%20resident,along%20with%20the%20%2425.00%20fee.
NJ$399$60$84https://www.state.nj.us/mvc/vehicles/regfees.htm
NM$339$3$62http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/register-your-vehicle.aspx
NV$499$28$33https://dmvnv.com/regfees.htm
NY$175$55$50https://dmv.ny.gov/registration/registration-fees-use-taxes-and-supplemental-fees-passenger-vehicles
OH$250$15$36https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/links/bmv-all-fees.pdf
OK$299$11$97https://www.ok.gov/tax/Individuals/Motor_Vehicle/Tag,_Tax,_Title_&_Fees/index.html
OR$115$77$86https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_822.043
PA$389$53$37https://www.dmv.pa.gov/Information-Centers/Payment/pages/payments-and-fees-page.aspx
RI$220$55$230http://www.dmv.ri.gov/documents/fees/passenger-and-commercial-reg-by-weight.pdf
SC$350$15$40http://www.scdmvonline.com/Fees
SD$115$10$120https://dor.sd.gov/individuals/motor-vehicle/all-vehicles-title-fees-registration/#registration
TN$500$11$27https://www.tn.gov/revenue/title-and-registration/vehicle-titling---registration/vehicle-registration.html
TX$150$33$74https://www.txdmv.gov/motorists/register-your-vehicle
UT$299$10$6https://dmv.utah.gov/taxes-fees#regfees
VA$599$10$41https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv201.pdf
VT$180$33$70https://dmv.vermont.gov/registrations/fees
WA$150$15$30https://www.dol.wa.gov/vehicleregistration/fees.html
WI$299$165$85https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/vehicle-fees-default.aspx
WV$175$10$30http://transportation.wv.gov/DMV/DMVFormSearch/Registration-Fees-Brochure.pdf
WY$500$25$15http://www.dot.state.wy.us/home/titles_plates_registration.html

In today’s market you will likely not be able to negotiate the dealer doc fee. That being said, we have this complete guide to car dealer fees you should never pay.

To collect doc fees we worked with one of our data providers, MarketCheck, to analyze thousands of car deals to determine our baseline doc fees. As states update their laws relating to doc fees we update this page, typically each quarter.

Wouldn’t it be nice to finance your car with someone you trust? Finance with CarEdge! We work with trusted credit unions offering low rates and great customer service. Learn more and get pre-approved in minutes!

COVERAGE YOU CAN TRUST

CarEdge Extended Warranty

Peace of mind without the markup.
Flexible terms & pricing.
Coverage details

 

Discover the right insurance for you

Compare different providers with no spam phone calls:

Call us 855.786.1144

M-F: 8AM – 9PM EST
Sat: 10AM – 6PM EST

Save more with CarEdge+

CarEdge+ Membership pays for itself for all things auto.

Unlimited access to CarEdge car buying tools, our team of Auto Experts, savings on maintenance, and repairs, and more.

Join CarEdge+
Learn More

Join CarEdge for Free

Get instant access to members-only resources.

We'll email you updates
Or, we can text you
Hidden
Subscribe to receive:

Consultations

$50 per 15-minute live session

Chat with a CarEdge Auto Expert to make sure you’re negotiating a fair deal.

  • Connect live on video or call.
  • Get live advice on any part of the buying process.
  • Ask us anything about your journey.

CarEdge Coach

$99 one-time

Partner with a dedicated coach to help you save thousands on your car deal.

  • Your coach will guide and assist through your journey.
  • Access to all premium resources, like Deal School 3.0, email templates and market pricing!
  • Learn how to buy a car with leverage and confidence.

CarEdge Concierge

$999 one-time

A dedicated concierge to handle all aspects of your car deal for you.

  • Concierge handles all communication with the dealer.
  • We negotiate the selling price, trade in, financing, warranties and insurance.
  • We listen, do the leg work and secure your deal.

Auto insights. Right in your inbox.

We'll email you updates
Or, we can text you
Hidden
Subscribe to receive:

Get the latest trends and money-saving strategies, once a week.

We'll email you updates
Or, we can text you
Hidden
Subscribe to receive:

Related articles

5 Comments

  1. Jessie

    Any possibility that as part of this chart you can also add the other fees? For example, for new there is the license plate fee, NY tire fee and inspection fee.

    Reply
  2. Rob Stanton

    Doc fees are much higher in WV now

    Reply
  3. Mary Ellen

    Fees for PA are higher than on the list. Doc fees are now $422, title $58 and registration is $39.

    Reply
  4. KM

    NM link to MVD is bad.

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This